38 Weeks

I’m now officially full term and baby could arrive at any time. I really wasn’t organised at all, but since the Easter long weekend I’ve gone crazy getting everything set up and washed and ready. Over the past two weeks I’ve done an extraordinary amount of online shopping because I obviously can’t go to the shops. I’ve had to buy every small thing online: bibs, dummies, nappy bags, nappy cream, maternity pads, nipple cream, clothes for the baby, sound machine for white noise, presents for Augie, bassinet sheets etc etc etc. The amount of money I’ve spent on postage is extreme. Let’s hope it gets here on time now because I know there are a lot of delays with the mail right now. It’s not looking good though.

I’m lucky that literally two days before isolation started I went to Baby Bunting and bought a bassinet, car seat and a baby monitor. I had a bassinet from Augie, but I didn’t like it and wanted one with wheels this time. I am re-using most things from Augie for this baby, but I’m a little sad I can’t go to the shops and browse for some special new things for this baby. Hopefully we can soon.

I’ve been seeing my Obstetrician weekly now and it’s all going smoothly. Baby is measuring perfectly well, which is a relief for a gestational diabetes baby. He did say today to be careful to stay vigilant in these final weeks/days with my sugars to lower the risk of baby needing the special care nursery after birth. He must have sensed I was ready to drop the ball a little. ☺️ I’ve noticed my sugars are getting harder and harder to keep down (I was told this would happen), which means I’m needing to really cut carbs to ensure I don’t go over the limit they have set me for my blood sugar readings. I don’t feel like eating vegetables at all and cannot be fucked cooking them either. But, it’s only a couple more weeks.

I have found out that they are strongly discouraging partners from leaving the hospital and then returning. So basically if AJ leaves to go home, they’d prefer he doesn’t come back. This is to limit the possibility of him bringing in carona virus germs and putting their staff and patients at risk. So we’ve decided that AJ will come for the birth (with my dad and step mum watching August) and then he’ll go home and stay home until he picks me and the baby up. It’s not an ideal situation but we think it’s more important that Augie has him around as he’ll definitely be a bit distressed if we both disappear for days. Plus Augie is a handful and will be a lot for my dad and step mum to manage to be honest. They live far away and really don’t see him enough to know anything about his routines or how to put him to bed or deal with his constant whining LOL. 😩

This means that I better actually pack my hospital bag properly because I won’t be able to ask anyone to bring me anything. Shit! I better pack enough chocolate.

I’m actually quite ready to have this baby. I’ve found the last few weeks of pregnancy very uncomfortable. It’s been hard to say the least to keep up with a toddler 24/7 with minimal breaks. Especially a toddler who still doesn’t want to sleep. I still sit up with him for hours every night and wonder how in the world I’ll cope with this while I have a newborn. I guess we will find our way as we don’t have any other choice.

AJ joked that he’ll feel the impact of the baby most of all because I quite literally couldn’t do anymore as I’m on the go about 20 hours out of every day so he’ll be the one doing the extra work. Hopefully! This is just because AJ’s work is very busy and he really hasn’t been able to do much to help, as much as I know he’d like to. My dad has been asking to come down and help, but obviously with carona virus and a baby on the way we are all taking isolation seriously.

I think AJ is feeling a bit down about the impending change in our lives with the arrival of this baby. I understand how he feels too. Having a baby is hard work and it feels like life will be put on pause for the next couple of years. Plus I know that I dive head first into being a mum and haven’t managed to be the chilled out or balanced mum I thought I’d be, so he probably feels like he’ll lose me again as well. And he’s right. Hopefully this time I’ll be more relaxed? I don’t want to lose myself either.

One thing I’m looking forward to is wearing jeans again after this baby is born (well hopefully anyway). I’ve had the worst maternity wardrobe as it just didn’t seem worthwhile spending money on, especially once isolation hit.

I don’t love harping one about weight as I’ve done a lot of work to remove this as a focus in my life, but I have occasionally been weighing myself this pregnancy just out of curiosity. I started this pregnancy higher in weight than I usually am. I actually haven’t weighed myself in years, but I could feel it. Then I gained a heap of weight at the start of pregnancy because I could only stomach bread and potatoes for months. After Christmas I started feeling better and was able to eat much healthier and then in February I got my gestational diabetes diagnosis and this really pushed me to eat super well.

  • 6 weeks: 86.6 kilos (190.5 lbs)
  • 26 weeks: 96 kilos (211.2 lbs)
  • 38 weeks: 96.2 kilos (211.6 lbs)

Yep, that shows no gain in the last 12 weeks, but that’s not unusual with gestational diabetes when you are already overweight. So I’m sitting at about a 10 kilo gain (so far) this pregnancy, which is what my Obstetrician suggested would be healthy for me. I’m really pleased I was able to adhere to this as I didn’t want to gain a stack of weight and risk complications in pregnancy or birth. Especially at my age!

I looked back on my blog from my pregnancy with August and see that I gained 13.3 kilos (29.2 lbs) with him and finished pregnancy at 93.3 kilos (205.2 lbs). So it’s been pretty similar, which is funny because I feel sooo much bigger this time!

10 thoughts on “38 Weeks

  1. Long time reader, very occasional commenter. Congratulations, hope the last little while, and birth, all goes smoothly for you! I am 26 wks preg with my first which is being made esp tricky given all the restrictions :/ What white noise machine and monitor did you get, and what do you pack in your hospital bag? Any advice greatly appreciated!

    Like

    • Hi Lara, congratulations to you! How exciting. 😊 I’ll put the answers in a blog post because it might be easier or else my response will be too long! I really hope by the time you have baby the restrictions have eased up. It must be really hard being a ftm and not being able to have proper obstetrics appointments or bring your partner (if your restrictions are the same as my hospital). Are you in Australia?

      Like

      • Thank you! 🙂 I’m up in Sydney, and I had my 20 wk scan and appt just before restrictions started, and since then have only had one check-in with my midwife which was by phone. My appt next week will be in person but yes, my partner can’t come.Fingers crossed restrictions ease a bit by the time baby comes!

        Like

      • I’m having a girl 🙂 No blog though. I used to but abandoned it years ago – very impressed with anyone who keeps them going for any length of time, even if posting becomes less frequent! Just got my GD results and it’s clear – which I’m thankful for but was also thinking that if it was positive it would be a good kick up the butt to be a bit more healthy – so hard to exercise during these times!!!

        Like

  2. Hey! I’ve been following you for a while and just wanted to wish you the best of luck with your new baby. I had my first was born just after yours and I just had my 2nd boy in December. I also had GD with my second – it really gave me an insight into how shocking my diet was!! (No more bags of haribo). Hope the last couple weeks go smoothly and the birth is ok (my 2nd was born in 50 mins 🤮) xx
    P.s I reckon I saw you once on a tram on Victoria St, Richmond but I didn’t want to look like a knob

    Like

    • Congrats on your new baby, how are you finding managing two now? Is it as hard as it seems? I was a bit delusional that my diet was pretty good before getting GD, I often think of all the times I would eat half Augie’s muffin or get some chips from Maccas or a hot chocolate at a cafe… obviously I can’t do that now, but I used to do things like that all the time and think I was eating pretty healthy.

      Like

    • Oh and that would have been me on the tram, I used to live on Victoria Street, right near Vic Gardens shopping centre. I miss all that yummy Asian food so much… You should have said hello! 😊

      Like

  3. Oh that makes sense! I worked beside Vic Gardens!
    Having 2 wasn’t as bad as I thought but I wore new baby in a sling for every nap for the first 10 weeks then the lockdown has given me a chance to “sleep train” for naps which is working well because the hardest thing I found was keeping the toddler quiet whilst baby was sleeping. I use a lot of screen time and snacks to keep the 2 year old occupied whilst I put the baby down. Having 2 kids is the best thing and I just love hanging out with them and it’s getting better the older they get.
    When I was diagnosed at 28 weeks I lost about 6kg but then I clued onto the fact I could actually eat chocolate so I started to gain. Couldn’t handle bread or cereal though – had my hubbie bring me Maccas at the hospital too 😁

    Like

    • I think I want to do baby wearing too. Which sling did you use?
      Well I didn’t know I could eat chocolate! Probably good I didn’t know that!
      I wanted AJ to bring me a Maccas sundae at the hospital but I don’t think he’ll be allowed to leave and come back, so maybe we’ll get one on the way home. 🤣

      Like

Leave a comment