Week 33: 2 June

Weight: Well my goal for pregnancy was to gain no more than 10 kilos and now I have reached that and I am only at week 33. Shit. Not much I can do about it (except eat less scotch finger biscuits). I just have to let bubs keep growing. The only reason that was my goal was because that was what my weight charts told me I should stick to, but those things are just guide I suppose.

This week: 90.2 kilos (198.4 lbs)
Up: 600 grams (1.3 lbs)
Total pregnancy gain: 10.2 kilos (22.4 lbs)

How far along: 33 weeks down, 7 to go.

How big is baby: Baby is as big as a pineapple and weighs approximately 2 kilos (so what the hell are these other 8 kilos I have gained???).

Sleep: It’s been the normal amount of waking up to go to the toilet many times during the night. The most frustrating part is that when I get up, I barely actually need to go to the bathroom, it’s just bubs pushing down on my bladder.

Symptoms: I am really feeling pregnant this week. Every thing leaves me breathless and I am finding it difficult to get comfortable in any position. Some days it just feels like everything hurts and I want to cry. So I am starting to see why so many women are just dying to get their babies out of them in the final weeks of pregnancy. I am still not in quite that much discomfort that I am wishing bubs out early, but I definitely understand that concept better now.

Best moment of this week: Being on maternity leave. YAY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! It has been lovely sleeping in a little and enjoying a cup of tea and my porridge at home (well, my hotel) on these cold winter mornings. I must say I have found myself a little at a loss of what to do with myself some days. I am not normally someone who gets bored, I can quite easily amuse myself at home pottering about, but there is only so much you can do with yourself when you don’t have a house. I have been doing a bit of shopping and I went to the movies in the middle of the day on Tuesday. Mostly I amuse myself on Pinterest or scoping out nursery and house ideas. So it’s been a nice week, but I feel so guilty every morning when AJ heads off to work and I am just a lady of leisure… and spending money that I probably shouldn’t be spending…

Miss anything: Probably just missing the ability to think clearly. I am not sure that I believe in baby brain, but I know that I am really struggling to think straight. It’s probably just from exhaustion, lack of sleep and being run down, but I just don’t trust myself anymore. The other day I left my hair straightener on after I went to work. I have never done this in my entire life!!! I have to consciously think about everything I do to make sure I am not doing something stupid. Did I accidentally throw my wallet in the bin? Did I turn the washing machine on? Did I just make a cup of tea? I really feel like I have lost my marbles.

Movement: Oh my god, has there been movement or what?! On Wednesday night bubs was going totally crazy to the point I started to get worried something could be wrong. It felt like bubs was going to move my internal organs. AJ couldn’t believe the pressure he could feel through my tummy from the baby kicking and doing somersaults. It continued through the night and AJ could feel it against his back as I snuggled in for warmth.

Food cravings: I’m still just feeling like crumpets and other bland foods. I have also been loving mandarins over the past month, they do give me a bit of heartburn, but it’s worth it.

Anything making you queasy or sick: Just the thought of eating vegetables, lean meats and other healthy foods. I just want bland carbs. I am trying to force down nutritious food every day because I know that me and bubs need it, but it’s getting harder and harder.

Gender: Who knows??? My team at work did a quick sweep and it was split down the middle with who thinks it’s a boy or girl. Though I think most of the girls guessed girl because they know I want a girl and were trying to be nice.

IMG_8381

My work also got me the cute cupcakes below with pink and blue baby feet. I told everyone around the office to take a pink or a blue depending on which gender they thought bubs would be… and if they took a blue one they were dead to me… 🙂

IMG_8380

How’s your mood: Pretty good this week, just my normal amount of snappiness… mostly directed at AJ ha ha! I must say that one thing I am getting sick and tired of hearing from people is how hard I am going to find being a mum. People just love to tell you horror stories of how hard it will be. I get it. Being a mum, especially to a new baby, is going to be really bloody hard!!! If I say to anyone that I am looking forward to it, they just give you this look like “oh you poor thing, you don’t understand yet”. I am sure it will be hard in ways that I can’t even comprehend right now, but I am getting a bit tired of negativity. I find it so much nicer when people share with you the amazing parts of being a parent, it’s always really special when someone opens up and tells you about the joys of parenthood.

Looking forward to: Just getting into our house. It’s all I can think about. I feel like I can’t get ready for bubs until we are in our new house, unpacked and have somewhere to put all the stuff bubs will need. I heard today that it looks like we’ll be in at the end of the month, which gives me 3 weeks before my due date to get ready. Just thinking about it makes me very anxious.

The Bump: Whoa, sorry for the close up, that’s a bit scary (especially without make up). AJ was doing everything he could to try and get a photo that showed the bump and this was the best he could get.

As this was my last week at work, I had to say goodbye to a lot of people and pretty much everyone was shocked to find out I was pregnant. By the end of the week I started to dread every interaction and having to go through the whole “yes, I’m definitely pregnant and yeah I haven’t really popped yet…”. Thank god that is over.

My last afternoon happened to be our monthly work drinks and the CEO brought me up in front of everyone to say goodbye and so I did everything I could to push my belly out and look as pregnant as possible ha ha!

IMG_8389

 

9 thoughts on “Week 33: 2 June

  1. I think some people at your work need glasses!!! You so look pregnant!!!!

    Love the cupcakes & glad they gave you a lovely send off 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Even though it’s a little early, I’m secretly hoping bubs arrives on the 17th – it was my Grandpa’s B’day (& Zac’s brothers) & the numbers feel nice!

    Sorry to hear about the negative comments – it never fails to amaze me that people cant just mind their biznez & be happy for other people who choose to do things!!!! Anythings!!!! And yes my knees will be just fine thank you very much to anyone & everyone who has commented on my choice to run whatever distance LOL. I am sure you will absolutely cherish motherhood regardless of any difficulties. And THAT is what will make you a great Mum!!!! xoxoxo

    Like

    • Thanks Cat, that is exactly right! I’ve never seen you happier than since you started running, why would people try and take that away from you! You know what you’re doing and are making choices based on what is best for you. You can’t just stop your passion because of the ‘what ifs’…

      Like

  2. Are they blind??!!! How can they not see you’re preggo?! I get the opposite though with people always telling me how big I am. I’m not sure what is more offensive honestly.

    Like

  3. I really enjoy these weekly updates. Thank you so much for sharing. I’ve been reading your blog for years. I wish you, AJ, and baby Bubs a happy and healthy life!

    Regards,
    Michelle from Florida

    Like

  4. Omg..you so look preggers… belly out past the boobies!!! the most amazing part of being a new mum is when they snuggle into you and tell you they love you with out being prompted… I still remember this moment… my kids are 17 this friday and 20 last Feb 2nd…. been a long time since nappies etc… but they still love me… most days…lol

    Like

    • Ahhh that is so sweet… gosh can’t believe your two have gotten so old. I remember them as only little tikes when I was reading your blog. When did they grow up??? 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

