Week 32: 26 May

Firstly, look at the lovely gift that a girl from work made for the baby this week. It was so heart warming to have someone go to so much effort for our little bub. I don’t think she intentionally chose a tiger because AJ is a Tigers fan, but it certainly contributed to her choice a little. I just love it!

IMG_8378

Weight: I had a bit of a spike in weight this week. Probably just normal ups and downs of pregnancy… plus all those lollies I kept sneaking from AJ ha ha!!!

This week: 89.6 kilos (197.1 lbs)
Up: 800 grams (1.7 lbs)
Total pregnancy gain: 9.6 kilos (21.1 lbs)

How far along: 32 weeks.

How big is baby: As long as a bunch of celery  (approximately 42 cm and 1.7 kilos).

Sleep: I really can’t get enough sleep this week. I am suddenly so exhausted, even more tired than the first trimester I think! My bump isn’t big enough that it causes me any major sleep problems, but I am still struggling with general insomnia.

Symptoms: Over the past month the baby has really been taking up a lot of space inside my belly (funny that!). I feel full up to the top of my throat. I get very breathless and a sharp pain in my side when I walk to work. So now my 15 minute walk to work takes me closer to 30 minutes because I have to take it easy. I also huff and puff if I even try to talk too much. It’s such a weird feeling and really reminds you that there is a big baby in that belly.

Oh and the usual symptoms… heartburn, swollen legs/feet, constipation, insomnia, back ache, bladder pressure, cramps, sore boobs. Nothing out of the ordinary, but some days it really adds up!

Best moment of this week: Celebrating my dad’s 60th birthday in Sydney with my family. The weather was so nice and warm up there and it was great to spend some time with my sweet niece and enjoy some yummy food and take in the beautiful Sydney sights.

As you can see from the photos below, we all just dote over Penelope. We must be very boring to be around as we are all smitten. She is such a funny little girl and has a big personality already.



Miss anything: I missed having the energy to properly enjoy family time over the weekend. I was just so zonked that I felt like I was not the best conversationalist. 

Movement: Oh yeah, lots and lots of kicks all night long. Baby keeps me company when I can’t sleep at night by doing somersaults in my belly. 🙂

Food cravings: I am really just feeling like bland foods- crumpets, bread, chips. I am trying to keep eating veggies, legumes and lean meat, but I just don’t feel like it at all. I think I might have to give up and just go with what my body wants. It’s too hard to force those bloody lentils down.

Anything making you queasy or sick: No not really queasy, but just no interest in food unless it’s a bland carb. Or a bag of jelly babies.

Gender: ????? My family were really harassing us to find out the sex and also tell them what names we have chosen. They kept guessing names and guessed a couple from our list! We still don’t know what bubs will be called until he/she is born and we have a fairly long list. I hope when we meet bubs we’ll just know what is right.

How’s your mood: My mood has been pretty good this week. Seeing my family and having maternity leave to look forward to has left me pretty cheery. The only downer has been more delays with my house. It’s looking like we won’t be in the new house until end of July or start of August… but baby is due 21 July. Oh my god. I may actually be having this baby in a hotel.

Looking forward to: MATERNITY LEAVE!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! My last day is this Friday and not a minute too soon. I am so bloody tired and the pressure at work is not easing off at all. Being in a relatively new job while pregnant has not been ideal and I haven’t done well at balancing things.

I technically don’t start maternity leave for another 2 weeks, but I took annual leave because I thought I was moving into my new house (not happening now unfortunately) but my replacement has started now so I may as well enjoy the break.

The Bump: I swear to god that I am the worst at these bump photos! It’s just so hard to see the bump under a thick knit sweater dress LOL.

IMG_8376

5 thoughts on “Week 32: 26 May

  1. Glad you had some quality family time even if you were tired! You both certainly look besotted with Penelope 🙂 🙂 🙂 Hooray for Maternity Leave!!! Put your feet up! Not long to go now!!!! xo

    Like

  2. Looking fab and you’ve done amazingly well getting to this point. Enjoy your maternity leave starting Friday 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

