Pregnancy Weight Gain

I know a number of people who barely gained weight and even lost some weight during pregnancy. It’s quite common for people with bad morning sickness or if you start from a higher BMI. Naturally I assumed I would be one of those people. Ha ha, what was I thinking???

I didn’t actually weigh myself when I first got pregnant, so it’s hard to know how much I have really gained. My last weigh in was on the 3rd of August 2016 when I weighed 77.6 kilos (170.7 lbs). I got pregnant about the end of October and I predict I weighed closer to 80 kilos (176 lbs) by then. During those few months I had a couple of indulgent weekends away and I was also eating and drinking more than usual because I was feeling a little down and out.

So here are my pregnancy weight stats at 25 weeks:

Pre- pregnancy start weight: 80 kilos (176 lbs)
20 week weight: 85.4 kilos (187.8 lbs)
25 week weight: 87.8 kilos (193.1 lbs)

This is a gain of 7.8 kilos (17.1 lbs) so far and I still have 15 weeks to go. Hmmmm.

All the information that I have read says that, at my BMI, I should only gain between 7-11.5 kilos (15.5 – 25 lbs) throughout my entire pregnancy. Holy shit, that is not much! So I had aimed to only gain about 10 kilos (22 lbs) maximum.  I have a feeling that baby still has a whole lot more growing to do, so I don’t think this will be a realistic goal.

It’s unfortunate that I gained so much in my first 20 weeks. I was so nauseous that I was eating a lot of carbs (at all times of the day and night) to make me feel better. I definitely didn’t eat as well as I could have in that time, but I just couldn’t face a whole lot of fruit or veg. Plus the Christmas period and moving house twice meant I was eating a lot more indulgently than I usually would. What can you do…

I do eat much better now (see typical diet here) and I also walk to work every day and plan to start pregnancy pilates this week. So I know that I am doing the best I can and my body will do what it needs to do to cook a healthy bubba. In all honesty, there is also a part of me that is in awe that I haven’t lost the plot completely and gained 30 kilos so far. So I am patting myself on the back a little bit too.

Here I am just before pregnancy (floral dress) and at 24 weeks pregnant (stripes).

I’d love to know how other women handled pregnancy weight gain. How much did you gain? Was it hard to get off again? Did you struggle a little bit when seeing those numbers go up every week?


In case you’re interested, this is typically how the pregnancy weight gain distributes:

Baby: 3.0 to 3.6kg
Placenta: 0.7kg
Amniotic fluid: 1kg
Larger uterus: 1kg
Increased blood volume: 1.4 to 1.8kg
Extra fluid: 1.4 to 1.8kg
Bigger breasts: 1kg
Fat stores: 2.7 to 3.6kg

2 thoughts on “Pregnancy Weight Gain

  1. You look great! I gained 48 lbs for my daughters pregnancy. Your only pregnant a short time so I look at is as “don’t go nuts, but don’t worry about every calorie either.” It’s hard when carbs are the only thing that makes you feel better.

    Like

Leave a Reply

