Week 21 : 10 March

How far along: Week 21. Only 131 days to go…

How big is baby: As big as a carrot. According to my app, bubs weighs 360 grams and is 27 cm from crown to heel. Wow, that’s almost as big as a ruler!

Sleep: Normal pregnancy sleep right now. A bit of insomnia, getting up to go to the toilet a lot, but nothing out of the ordinary.

Symptoms: This is not a symptom as such, but I am finding my underwear quite uncomfortable. My bump is not big enough to necessitate buying new underwear yet, but I do find they roll down a bit when I walk any distance and they are digging in and giving me a rash in sensitive areas. Not very comfortable in the heat of summer! I might have to buy some bigger knickers soon.

Best moment of this week: My family hired a holiday house by the beach in Jervis Bay and we joined them for 2 nights. So I got lots of cuddles with my sweet niece Penelope. I hadn’t seen her since Christmas and she is so big! She is just such a delight. When I worry at all that I won’t be able love my baby enough, I only have to think about how much I love her and I know I’ll be OK.



Miss anything: Hanging out with my family for a few days did make me feel like indulging in some nice wine and cheese. My family like a drink or two and it would have been nice to enjoy some crisp cold wine by the beach with them. I did have a little bit of wine, but the heartburn got to me, so it wasn’t worth it.

Movement: Yes, bubs is still bouncing about a fair bit. It still feels more like flutters than actual kicks, but it is quite cool.

Food cravings: Nothing in particular. Mostly I am craving foods that don’t give me heartburn.

Anything making you queasy or sick: Not queasy or sick, but just about everything is giving me heartburn/reflux. When you are on holidays you don’t eat quite so healthy, so I have been paying for it. Ouch.

Gender: No idea. I still want a girl, but I am getting better with accepting how lovely a little mini AJ would be too. 🙂

How’s your mood: It is fair to say that I am still easily emotional. When we were driving home from seeing my family over the weekend I got quite teary because I was sad to leave them. It was so nice to be around people who really care about you, especially when you’re going through a significant change in your life and things have been difficult with work, my living situation and just being pregnant. It’s just nice to see some friendly faces.

Looking forward to: We are moving into a hotel closer to my work on Monday while we continue to wait for my stupid townhouse to be finished (no idea when this will be). This will save me about 4 hours of commute each day, which I plan to use for sleep! I do also want to do more walking and find a pregnancy pilates/yoga class now that I’ll have more time. I can’t wait.

The Bump: It feels like it is finally starting to pop a little now and making itself known to me. When we were at the beach I tried to lie on my stomach in the sand and was shocked to realise that my little bump was in the way. This has definitely been the week where I have noticed the most dramatic growth spurt so far. It is starting to feel like I have a lead balloon in my stomach and I am feeling a bit of pressure in my downstairs area. It’s starting to feel more real!

Here is a photo from today. This dress is not a great example at all, it seems to almost camouflage the bump, but it is there now! Actually, this dress was waaaaay too big for me 6 months ago and I was going to donate it to charity, now it is tight everywhere (not just around my tummy).

IMG_7711

Oh and AJ made me pose for this silly photo at the beach. 🙂

IMG_0018

4 thoughts on “Week 21 : 10 March

  1. Helly baby Bugs Bunny! You are looking well. Good luck with your mini-move and hope your townhouse isn’t too far off from completion. It is WELL overdue, isn’t it? Will you be seeking compensation for any delay?

    Like

  2. Hi Bump!!! Waving!!!!!!!!!!

    You are so glowing!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Yay for Penelope to remind you you will love your bubba to the end of the earth!! So happy for you that you’ve been able to move close to work – bring on the sleeping!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! X

    Like

Leave a Reply

