Week 18: 17 February

How far along: 18 weeks- getting close to half way.

How big is baby: The size of a capsicum. A girl at work was asking me how big the baby was now and I said it was still tiny really and my app was telling me it was 14.2 cm from head to bum. She got out a ruler and measured that and we were both shocked by how big that actually was. I think I just assumed it was still this tiny little nugget, but it’s really growing now! That was a surreal moment.

Sleep: Same, same this week. Waking up very early and can’t get back to sleep. I’m not sure how much of it is insomnia, anxiety or just changed sleep patterns. It’s not really bothering me too much.

Symptoms: The main thing I am struggling with is a major 3.00 pm slump. I can barely function at work after this time and just want to go home to bed. Other ongoing symptoms have been consistent throughout my pregnancy: dizziness, cramping and needing to go to the toilet all of the bloody time.

Best moment of this week: I had a few nice moments where I felt special this week. One of the agencies I work with sent me flowers to work to congratulate me, my blog friend Nessa sent me some baby goodies, my sister-in-law treated me to a night in a hotel and AJ bought me some lovely choccies and perfume. It reminded me how lucky I am to be surrounded by good people.

Oh and submitting my maternity leave forms, my last day of work is 16th June. The countdown is on!

Miss anything: Missing AJ, even though he is still here with me, he has been working long hours on his business and I feel like I barely see him. I miss having time to chat with him about the baby, but I am proud of how hard he is working.

Movement: Not feeling anything much this week. I am sure I felt it last week, but not this week.

Food cravings: A plain toasted cheese sandwich would be nice. Craving plain, dry foods as I am feeling a little off this week.

Anything making you queasy or sick: Not queasy, just a lack of appetite. Not that it’s stopped me from eating of course!

Gender: Some annoying people at work have started predicting it’s a boy… hmmm

How’s your mood: My mood has been a bit cheerier now that I have confirmed I am moving into a hotel close to work on the 13th March until my new house is finished being built. Not long now and I’ll be rid of the hideous long commute, have my own private space, reliable hot water, internet and TV reception. I am so excited!!!

Looking forward to: Moving into our hotel in just a few weeks. Bliss.

The Bump: I took a photo in my jeans this week. I am still in my pre-pregnancy size 14 jeans, but they are really being pushed to the limit now. Before baby they were too big, now they are very snug and I need to undo them in the car to give me some relief. This might be the last time these jeans make an appearance!

Still no noticeable bump to the outside eye, but I can see how rounded out I am there. I used to be flat (thank you tummy tuck), but now I have a little bump. It’s enough to mean a lot of my clothes don’t fit, but not enough to need to wear maternity clothes. The awkward stage!

IMG_0013.JPG

10 thoughts on “Week 18: 17 February

  1. Looking well and hope you get some rest in your new temporary home! I’m sure the baby goodies will come in handy! I’ll send you more if I end up with more samples between now and bubba arriving 🙂

    Take care xo

    P.S. How is the tummy going with the stretch post TT? Is it uncomfortable?

    Like

    • So far I haven’t popped out enough to notice any difference. I had a friend who had a baby after a tummy tuck and she said she went back into shape fine after baby (she was thinner than me though). I’m still hoping to one day go back and have the upper body surgery and a breast lift, so could even have a small revision to the tummy at the same time. If I ever get the money… 🙂

      Like

  2. So glad your living arrangements are changing for the better!!! More sleep!!! And privacy!! And hot water!!!!!! Hi Bump & yes I will wave at your pic every week 🙂 🙂 🙂

    Like

  3. Your blog posts are lovely! I was thinking of doing the same kind of thing to keep track of everything but i think its a little late now as im not too far behind you (I am 18 weeks 2 days) Its nice to know that im not the only one experiencing the inbetween stage!

    Thankyou! Ill definitely be keeping up to date with your posts 😀

    Like

Leave a Reply

