Week 16: 3 February

This week I finally told people at work that I am pregnant. I didn’t really plan on telling my boss just yet, but an opportunity came us where we were having a big talk (i.e. she was telling me off) and it was the right time to tell her. She then proceeded to tell my team a few days later because she said if I wasn’t going to do it, she was going to tell them. So that seemed a bit weird. No one believed her at first, which has been a common reaction. I am not sure why this has shocked everyone so much?!

So now just about everyone I am close with knows I’m pregnant. It has been such a weird and awkward experience telling people I am pregnant because it feels like such a personal thing to share. I really hate talking about myself normally and now I am getting so many questions (which is lovely of people to care) but I feel quite uncomfortable. Has anyone else felt like that?

How far along:  16 weeks, yay! Ive been excited to get to this point. It seems like I am really getting there. Next milestone is 20 weeks. 🙂

How big is baby: The size of an avocado, which is weird when I have eaten avocado for lunch every day this week.

Sleep: The insomnia hasn’t been too bad this week, but sleep has been a bit lacking due to the very early mornings for my long commute to work.

Symptoms: Just so bloody tired. I have found myself pretty much done for the day at 3.00 pm and barely able to function after that. It might have more to do with the heat and the commute to work than the baby. Also, I feel like my hair looks like shit lately, is this a pregnancy thing or just having a bad hair month?

Best moment of this week: AJ got a new job, which has nothing to do with the baby, but I am excited for him. Unfortunately this means he won’t get much paternity leave, but hopefully he’ll be able to take 2 weeks off when I have bubs. I have a feeling I will have my hands full!

Miss anything: I’m still missing my mum. Ive been trying not to think about it, but I had a horrible dream on Saturday morning that my gran passed away and my mum was hysterical because it meant that I didn’t have her or my gran to be there for me and the baby and she was worried about me. I woke up sobbing and just haven’t felt good all week. My gran is actually alive in real life, but she hasn’t known who I am for 5 years and can’t really communicate with me at all. So even though she’s still alive, I miss her so much too. It’s just really bought home for me that I don’t have my mum or gran with me. It doesn’t help when so many people keep saying things to me about my mum. People just assume my mum is still around and will help me with the baby and I have to correct them. The HR girl at work was awful because she was pushing me to give her a date for my return to work and I said it would depend on childcare and she flippantly said “can’t your mum just babysit?”, which was just annoying on a number of levels.

Movement: I’m not feeling anything. Maybe in the next few weeks.

Food cravings: Nothing too much, just dry/carby foods and fruit. Nothing weird. I am trying to eat better this week after eating sooooo much take away while we were moving.

Anything making you queasy or sick: No issues this week, but I still can’t stand the sight of chili, onion, capsicum, tomato, mints, coffee and pepsi max. That’s been consistent for my entire pregnancy.

Gender: I still don’t know, I always think of it as a little girl, but that’s just because I want a girl!

How’s your mood: Don’t ask! Oh dear, its been a bit tough again this week. I have felt teary and emotional all week and just not like myself. I am blaming the hormones.

Looking forward to: Just fast forwarding through the next 4 months and being in my new house and having a big fat baby bump.

The Bump: I can really feel it now when I am laying in bed, but no one else can really see it yet. Now that people at work know I am pregnant everyone keeps saying that they can’t believe I am 16 weeks pregnant because you can’t tell. I think it’s quite normal not to have a bump until about 20 weeks for your first pregnancy. Obviously I have a bit of padding for the bump to poke through yet.

bumpie-2

6 thoughts on “Week 16: 3 February

  1. I also feel strange telling people so you’re definitely not alone on that. I’m sorry about your mum – that is really properly sad. My dad also passed away many years ago (not the same I appreciate) and sometimes when people ask insensitive questions I just bluntly reply “Oh that would be nice if he wasn’t dead.” That usually stops future insensitive questions! You are defo not showing as much as me and we are 1 day apart. I had my scan today and it looks like my bub is a little on the big end of the average spectrum. Eeeek!! You sound like you’re pretty tired from the weather so I hope it cools down a bit for you soon so you can sleep a little better. xx

    Like

  2. So thrilled to read of your exciting news. I’ve been a reader of your blog for quite a while and when I read you were pregnant I just had to say hi and congratulations 🙂 . Made me smile!!! I have 2 daughters (14 &11) . Being a mum is awesome- lots of ups and down but so worth it!! A very steep learning curve – You never know whats around the corner but it seems to all work out. So looking forward to hearing more about your journey. x

    Like

  3. I can’t believe people are making you feel uncomfortable with their questions. They have no right to ask such things. This is a happy time for you and AJ so how hard is it to say congratulations and be happy for you.
    I think it is a girl too! So happy for you two, you deserve so much happiness ❤

    Like

  4. There will always be times when you miss you Mum more than usual but she will always be in your heart.

    Your boss sounds like a bit of a cow, she had no right to tell ANYONE you were pregnant, that is your news and yours alone.

    Try & get as much rest as you can 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

