Week 14: 20 January

How far along:Ā 14 weeks

How big is baby: The size of a lemon

Sleep: No sleep. Insomnia is not going anywhere. The worst bit is that when I can’t sleep I like to snack… I find it helps soothe me.

Symptoms: Just zonked. I took my first sick day at work because I just couldn’t make it through the whole week. I told work I had a migraine and spent the day resting. It was just what I needed.

Best moment of this week: We have started to tell a few people now, which I find incredibly awkward, but it has been nice to share the secret and to have people be so excited for you.

Miss anything: Sleep.

Movement: No, just the usual flutters I feel, could be gas!

Food cravings: Potato cakes, always potato cakes… but I always want potato cakes, so this is not unusual!

Anything making you queasy or sick: Mostly just coffee and when AJ eats mints in the warm car.

Gender: Your guess is as good as mine. Still hoping for a little girl.

How’s your mood: It’s been a strange week. When I was home sick on Friday I got a text from AJ at work saying there had been gunshots and his building was in lockdown. He didn’t know what was happening and if the shots were inside or outside the building. It was a very scary few minutes while I waited to hear if everything was OK, then he was able to reassure me that it looked like the suspect had been apprehended by police outside his office window. He looked out and saw that horrible image that we have all seen in Melbourne of the gunman and the smashed car with the pram which had unfortunately happened right outside his office window. Little did we know of the additional carnage at that point. He was badly shaken up by the incident and what he could see going on, so he came home right away. I was so grateful he was OK, as he had just been out on the street talking to me on the phone and was supposed to be walking down there for a meeting that was cancelled at the last minute. I don’t even want to imagine life for me and our baby without AJ.

Looking forward to: Only working a 3 day week. Woo hoo!

The Bump: It’s looking a little bump-like in this picture. Or is it just the dress? Excuse the tower of boxes, I’m moving next week!

img_7442

2 thoughts on “Week 14: 20 January

  1. Terribly scarey for you both (re gunshots etc)
    Gotta love baby bump progress photos. šŸ™‚ Finally moving.. wow how exciting and exhausting at the same time.
    Go you for being able to take a sick day when you just arent feeling up to it! Wish I had the guts to do that.

    Like

Leave a Reply

