Time Out

boob-freedom

I’ve read enough chick lit books to know that when you lose your job, you are supposed to move to a new city, take the time to ‘find yourself’ and then you will magically lose a stack of weight, land your dream job and meet the perfect guy. Normally this is facilitated by an inheritance from an aunt that you have tucked away for a rainy day.

Unfortunately my life is not a chick lit book. I don’t really have the luxury of taking the time to ‘find myself’… I really just need to find a bloody job! Not a dream job, just a job would be nice.

I really can’t complain too much about being unemployed. I have been filling my days very nicely with gym work outs, long walks and podcasts, cooking, housework, coffees with friends, online study and a bit of TV. I could probably spend all day just surfing the net and not get bored. I am easily amused.

I am doing all the things I used to do when I worked, but I have the time to do it slowly and purposefully. The simple act of making a cup of tea and drinking it is enjoyable when I don’t have a million things to do. Even going to the gym and doing the housework is quite nice when I can take my time and not feel rushed.

Being unemployed is really suiting me. I do have bouts of panic about money or frustration that I was made redundant, but time away from the workforce has given me some perspective. I am starting to feel like my old self again.

I haven’t exactly been able to ‘find myself’ just yet, but I am learning what I don’t want in my life anymore and sometimes that is the first step.

 

 

 

 

 

4 thoughts on “Time Out

  1. It sounds like things are going better than you thought it might. Fingers crossed for a great job offer soon!

    Like

  2. Hi Tully,

    Your job is NOT your identity.

    We get so caught up in our society hiding behind a (often, meaningless) job title.

    You’re worth much more than that. I live for your posts, there aren’t a wealth of weight loss surgery blogs which are as authentic as what you write. You don’t just join the legion of Facebook writers who take time to carefully articulate a false representation of an overly perfect life.

    You show your flaws, you show both the good and bad times.

    You are truly and inspiration and I get excited every time I see a notification in my email showing that you’ve put up a new post.

    Xx Sally

    Like

  3. I’m loving your attitude (not so much the bouts of panic etc). I would love to have the $$ behind me to enjoy my days. I’m forever apologising to Trixie that I don’t spend enough time with her – I can’t remember the last time I just sat & enjoyed a cuppa!!! I hope that the right job turns up sooner than later. xoxoi

    Like

Leave a Reply

