Too Fat for Lipo

Ugh… I had a shitty week, but TGIF I suppose.

I’ve had some challenges at work, I got my first ever migraine (aura and everything), fell over outside my work and had a miserable doctors appointment.

So the doctors appointment… I decided to go back to see the plastic surgeon who did my body lift to ask about some liposuction on my lower back. I had always been unhappy with my lower back after my surgery because it bulges out, instead of curving in like a back should. It makes me feel very insecure and I go to a lot of lengths to try and cover it up. I thought a little lipo might help the issue.

Turns out that I am too fat for lipo.

embarrassing

My surgeon asked me how much I weighed and I told him that I don’t weigh myself, he said ‘maybe that is your problem’. Ouch. So, at his insistence, I got on the scales and the number was 88.5 kilos (194.7 lbs). Admittedly, this was much higher than I anticipated. I genuinely thought I was at least 5 kilos less than that. Damn it.

eating problem

Then he gave me a lecture on how I need to go back and see my lap band doctor and use my lap band properly… blah blah blah. I tried to explain that I had difficulty with it, but I could tell he just thought that I was full of shit. He was so pro-lap band that it wasn’t worth discussing further.

annoying

He said he wouldn’t do anything with my back until I lost 10 kilos. Even though he admitted that weight loss wouldn’t really improve my back issues. If I was braver, I would have said that I thought he should have fixed my lower back issues properly in the first surgery (I didn’t because I am a scaredy cat).

fuck you

I’m not saying he was wrong, he is the expert after all, but his delivery could have done with a little work… What really frustrated me was that he didn’t understand that I could be OK with myself at my current weight and that I just wanted to fix an issue that puts my body out of proportion. I guess a cosmetic surgery is not the best place to try and be body positive… ha ha!

stop talking

I left the appointment feeling pretty stupid and $225 poorer. The whole experience completely put me off the idea of having lipo for now.

interesting visit

So that means I can put my money toward much more important things.

fries

 

 

 

 

7 thoughts on “Too Fat for Lipo

  1. I’m sorry you had that experience. Clearly the doctor is biased. He makes money by encouraging people to be dissatisfied with their appearance. If only he were the only one with this bias, but unfortunately it is widespread.

    Like

  2. You know your body! Go to a different surgeon and hopefully he will tell you that the other guy is shite and nobody likes him, which might at least, make you feel better. Lol! Love the K girls help with blog post!

    Like

  3. I’m so sorry to hear about your poor experience with the surgeon. It sounds like he was terribly patronising and did not really listen to you despite you forking out so much money to see him.

    If it is still making you unhappy hopefully there will be another surgeon who will be able to help. It’s worth getting a 2nd opinion.

    I think it’s so great that you are happy with your weight where you are and it’s a great idea not weighing your self. Weighing myself always leads to so much unnecessary anxiety.

    Like

  4. Pingback: The Bloody Scales | you would be pretty if...

  5. Why do some Doctor’s think they are God??? Sorry you had such a shitty experience.

    How is your head (& knee’s)? poor bugger!!! Hope you’re feeling better!!!!!

    Like

Leave a Reply

