Being OK with Myself

body positive

I was losing the battle with binge eating at the start of this month. I was eating completely out of control and I was starting to panic that I was on my way down a dangerous path that would find me back at 130 kilos (286 lbs). I could see it happening, but I couldn’t do anything to stop it. It’s a horrible feeling.

Do you know what really helped me start to turn things around? I realised that I need to stop hating my body. It turns out that the more I hated myself, the more I wanted to punish myself with food.

A few weeks ago I stared at myself in the mirror for a long time and told myself that I am OK as I am now. I do still want to lose weight, but I am OK now too. This isn’t the first time I have tried this, but something sunk in this time.

I was putting a lot of pressure on myself to drop a lot of weight before going on an upcoming holiday and part of the chat I had with myself in the mirror was about this holiday. I told myself that it didn’t matter if I was 5 kilos heavier or 5 kilos lighter on holidays. I am OK as I am now and I deserve to have a fun holiday no matter what size I am.

I’m not a good example of body positivity by any means… I still grab my rolls of fat and screw up my face in the mirror and I still get frustrated that I can’t fit into cute clothes, but I am working at it.

5 thoughts on “Being OK with Myself

  1. I have this statement written on my bathroom mirror at the moment:
    You Are Enough
    not because you did, or said, or thought, or bought, or became, or created something special. but because
    You Already Were.

    I think that should apply to physical appearance as well. why do we put so much pressure on ourselves to be so much more??!!

    Hope you have a sensational holiday & enjoy every bloody moment!!!!!!! xoxo

    Like

  2. Your body is your home – the only one, your soul and spirit ever have. Your body is your best friend, treat it so – when you think bad about yourself, when you critisize yourself harshly, would you give this harsh bad words to a friend of yours? No? Of course not! Why then to your best friend – try to see it that way, not only accept your body, like it is, LOVE it! It’s a wonder of nature, it’s strong, it’s beautiful, it’s YOURS! Take care of yourself!

    Like

Leave a Reply

