Lap Band Update

I’m on a diet and I only have one thing to say…

hungry

But you might ask why I am so hungry if I had lap band surgery? Well, me and my lap band are not friends at all anymore.

I had lap band surgery in 2009 and, with great amounts of dedication, diet and exercise, I managed to take my weight from 130 kilos (286 lbs) to a 75-85 kilo (165 – 187 lbs) range. That was amazing! Unfortunately I did not ever really get to feel fuller from eating only small amounts of food. I mostly lost weight because I could not physically keep my food down.

Eating really did just become too hard. It was physically painful and stressful. I turned to ‘slider’ foods like chocolate and ice cream that I could get down. I struggled with nutrition and general health (anemia, B12 deficiency, constipation, exhaustion).

I’ve had well over 50 adjustments of my band to try and find that elusive sweet spot, but I have never found it. I persevered because I thought I was doing something wrong, Maybe I was eating too fast or not chewing my food enough? Or maybe I just need one more adjustment and it would be more comfortable?

Ultimately, I think that a big reason why I struggled so much was that I am a very anxious person and I found that stress, anxiety, tiredness and sickness all made my band clamp up tight. Once my mum got sick and I was looking after her and under a lot of stress my band became totally unmanageable. After she died I ended up begging the doctor to just remove as much fluid as possible because I couldn’t cope with the additional stress of not being able to eat.

I am so much happier without fluid in my lap band. I love being able to eat in any restaurant and not spend the entire time in fear of getting stuck. I love eating lunch with colleagues at work and not looking strange as I nibble on my food and then rush off to the bathroom to throw it up. I love it when someone offers me a taste of their food and I can confidently have a bite without consequences. I love cooking a delicious meal at home and being able to sit down and actually enjoy eating it.

The major negative is that I do really struggle to keep my weight off now. I tend toward binge eating to manage anxiety and the one thing that the lap band did was stop me being able to binge eat. So I guess I have to pick my battles… I can either have fluid in my band and not be able to eat or have the fluid taken out and be able to eat too much. Nothing is ever easy.

8 thoughts on “Lap Band Update

  1. Hey Tully,

    As you know, I’ve had the sleeve. Do I stick to a “diet”? No. I still eat the wrong foods, hence why I still haven’t reached my goal after 3 years. Heck, we are only human. Only you know what your body needs/wants and does not need/want.

    You know where to find me if you want to talk 🙂

    Like

  2. I can’t believe how hard things have been for you Chick. My niece in Melbourne had similar problems with her lap band too… but she did find her ‘sweet spot’ … but it took a long time and a lot of sickness, and malnutrition!
    I hope you find a solution to your weight battle.

    Like

  3. I also do not have any fluid in my band. I think it is better to have the ability to eat all foods for the reasons you stated (being forced to eat only “sliders”, etc.).

    Like

  4. Tully that completely sucks for you. Not helpful I know. Agree with Amanda above therefore anxiety management will be the battle? One day/situation at a time. xo

    Like

  5. Hi Tully, For me, I would suggest getting .5 ml of fluid added to your band once a week until you’re at the point where small meals don’t make you feel sick and you have a good level of restriction. It’s what my lap band doctor did with me. If you start from having no fluid in your band, and slowly increase the fluid until you find your sweet spot, I think you would be so much happier, I know that I am!! You can do this. The first week is the hardest, grit your teeth and you’ll get there. You’ve done it before, you will do it again now. 🙂 ❤ xx

    Like

  6. Pingback: Too Fat for Lipo | you would be pretty if...

  7. Pingback: 7 Years with the Lapband | you would be pretty if...

Leave a Reply

