The Weight Update

diet meme

In the least shocking news ever… I am still trying to lose weight! I know, it’s incredibly boring, can’t I do something different for a change???

For anyone that is interested, here is a little recap to get you up to speed:

How it all started…

  • I have been obese my entire life
  • I tried everything to lose weight, but I just couldn’t keep it off
  • In May 2009 I weighed 130 kilos (286 lbs) and had lap band surgery
  • I lost about 55 kilos (121 lbs)
  • In November 2012 I had body lift surgery to get rid of the excess skin
  • I weighedΒ about 70 kilos (154 lbs)
  • Life was great and I was (almost) happy

The all important before and after pictures:

bathers joined image

dress joined

Then what happened?

  • My mum got sick with cancer in May 2013
  • I coped with the stress by overeating
  • My mum passed away in March 2014
  • I gained 35 kilos (77 lbs)

fat again joined

And then what?

  • In May 2014 I went on a manic grief induced diet
  • I exercised 5 days per week
  • I took the Duromine diet pill
  • I had the fill removed from my lap band because the stress made it too tight
  • I lost 20 kilos by December 2014

bali joined

And now?

  • My weight has bounced (mostly up) around 10 kilos (22 lbs) this year
  • I am tryingΒ to lose the last 15 kilos (33 lbs) I gained
  • I want to have an upper body lift (the second surgery I need)
  • Dieting is still bloody hard
  • I would like to love my body more

Capture

What’s next?

  • Stay tuned!
  • Spoiler alert: I’llΒ probably gain weight again…
8 thoughts on “The Weight Update

  1. I’m very sorry to hear about your mom. May I suggest that you give yourself a pass for the grief and loss induced eating issues? It sounds like you’ve been through a great deal and guess what? You coped! You handled it. Good for you!

    I’m sure we would all love to not turn to food in times of hardship, but the reality is that for those of us who have struggled with overeating and obesity, it is often our first reaction when things are tough. It can be a very effective coping mechanism so it is no wonder we turn to it when times are hard.

    When you’re ready, I am sure you’ll get back to it. Beating yourself up probably won’t help. Can you get a fill or is the stress still too great? How about exercise? This is really a great way to beat stress. Hugs and good luck!

    Like

  2. So glad to see you back again! This losing weight thing is so hard. I am really struggling to lose any of the weight I gained after my sleeve revision. Story of my life! You can do this, we can do this.

    Like

  3. I’ve bounced (also mainly up) around 10kgs for the last two years. It drives me nuts. I’m currently at the top end of my weight again (75kg) and all my clothes are uncomfortably tight. Why is maintaining weight soooooooooooooooooo hard, let along losing that last 15 kgs (my ideal is around 60kg – I am a shorty).

    Like

Leave a Reply

